Hydrants. Evil or…

1 wpid-2015-09-11-12-35-43

My good friend and talented artist Tiffany Choong (scroll down for her site link) once drew my attention to fire hydrants. Does anybody actually see those faithful public servants? No. Only dogs find them useful to… Well. You know. Ever since Tiffany published the above drawing of a hydrant in Singapore, my life has taken a new turn. I now see fire hydrants everywhere. Some look evil. Some look like good guys. What do ya think?

2016-07-09 15.42.42

Hell fire hydrant on 666 Hell Road. (the third 6 has fallen down)

Bog 24-12-16 8 59 04 a.m.

Colombian fire hydrant, BogotΓ‘.

SF2016-07-05 15.54.42-A

San Francisco fire department. A fire hydrant with a glow. Look carefully.

Tvy IMG_5998

French fire hydrant, city of Taverny in the suburbs of Paris. Blue, grey and red. National colours. Sort of.

DF IMG_3434

Fire hydrant helplessly watching the effects of global warming and resulting rise of the waters. Tolima province, Colombia.

SF2016-07-06 15.22.33

“If you’re going to San Francisco…”

G IMG_3504

Fire hydrant on night duty, Tolima province, Colombia. Or maybe an undercover Transformer?

G 01-01-17 8 29 09 a.m.

Fire hydrant on day duty, Tolima province.

Bog IMG_3537

Minion posing as a fire hydrant, BogotΓ‘, Colombia. Another minion to the right is posing as a yellow and black post.

G 30-12-16 11 09 58 a.m.

Fire hydrant with a hangover, January 1st, Tolima province.

Ile IMG_6018

L‘Isle-Adam, marches of Normandy. Home of Villiers de l’Isle-Adam, a 19th century fantasy, mystery and horror writer. Town folk say some hydrants walk around at night… This one looks mean.

SF2016-07-09 18.42.43

“I wish they all could be California girls…” (Beach boys)

And as a fitting conclusion, allow me to present another sketch – and thought – by Tiffany Choong:

wp-image-661282039jpg

All sketches (c) Tiffany Choong and Bulanlifestyle). Visit Tiffany’s site (very “good vibrations”!)

http://www.bulanlifestyle.com/

A lovely week to y’all.

 

 

94 thoughts on “Hydrants. Evil or…

    • On a “technical” note: I am getting dozens of likes from you. Though I appreciate, I wonder whether you might have caught a “bug”? It is kinda weird… Be good Dragos

      • The bitterness inside must be compensated with a few jokes every now and then. πŸ™‚
        When you’re the hydrant, the only thing below you is the curb you’ve been kicked at, so to speak. πŸ˜‰

        In regard to the hemorrhage of likes, it’s simple: the browser I’m using lately (lighter, faster) is not “supported” by WP and therefore doesn’t display the notifications sidebar; whenever I remember, I fire up the old browser, log in and start clicking, otherwise all those notifications would pile up. That’s what I did yesterday (and it wasn’t only about you, there were many others). πŸ™‚

      • Now I understand the (welcome) flow of likes. πŸ™‚ And yes, humour is best weapon of all. Particularly against bitter/sadness. Bon week-end mon ami.

      • Yeah well, now I could use some humour – caught a cold out of the blue, my nose is “leaking” like a cracked hydrant and even my eyeballs hurt. There, I’m almost on-topic. Ha… ha… haaaaaaa! πŸ˜₯

        Take care, mon ami and please get well soon!

      • Oh. That’s a shame. A cold in summer is a bore. (Even more than in winter). Drink a lot of tea. Which you can lace with that 75ΒΊ liquor of yours? πŸ˜‰

      • Just my “luck”, as always. πŸ™‚
        I’m a little better now, thanks to lemon vodka and a couple hot chili peppers. πŸ˜‰
        Cheers! |_|

      • Yep, red indeed, but no connection to the band. πŸ™‚ Bird’s eye, dunno which variant. Grown by myself. πŸ˜‰

      • Interesting that it should stay spicy. We tried growing mexican chili in Colombia. They grew but had lost the spice. Something to do with altitude, heat, sun duration in the day, etc.

      • Oh, sorry to hear that. In my case it may have been beginner’s luck (three years out of four, didn’t plant any last year) or maybe they already were accustomed to our climate. It’s possible they may have lost some power here too, dunno, but they’re still hot.

        Strange the fruits grow upwards here, not downwards as I saw in some Wikipedia pictures. Maybe they aim for the sun? I’m watering them daily or every other day, depending on weather and keep them in a sunny spot. A friend of mine two houses away has a few plants of Black Habanero (allegedly) and they didn’t like the sun at all, had to move them in a darker place. To each their own, I guess. πŸ™‚

      • No problem with the Colombian experiment. It was just… interesting how terrain impacted. Now, upward may be a way to reach for more sun. The important thing is that they are still hot. πŸ™‚

      • Could that be a Monsanto-like biological anti-piracy method built into the plants’ DNA? In that case mine might be… piirated copies. πŸ˜› Hot stuff! πŸ˜†

      • We are pushed to piracy in many ways. Here I have tried lawfully renting or buying movies or series. Most cases: NO dice. Your country is not authorized… bla-bla-bla (c) et(c). So I get the stuff elsewhere.
        Now about Monsanto, no need for their seeds. French farmers are prohibited to re-plant the seeds from their crops. can you believe that? Buy seeds at the local cooperative. Harvest wheat. You can not put some wheat aside to replant the next year. All seeds (normal seeds, not genetically altered have to be bought from the cooperative!) How about that? 😦

      • Ah, don’t get me started! 😦
        How do you know the cooperative seeds are “normal”? What if they forbid replanting precisely to hide some dirty maneouvers? But even if that’s not the case it’s still outrageous – everything is done to make the rich richer and the poor poorer.

      • The seeds are normal. Engineered seeds are prohibited in France. It is just an outrageous system to crush the farmers. Sanctioned by the government. Only recently learned about it. 😦

      • Yeah… forbidden, forbidden… a lot of things are forbidden but it only applies to “small” people.
        I wonder: where exactly the “normal” seeds come from? Who and where does grow them?
        I could understand such measures if there were chances for the next resulting crops to produce degenerated or infected plants who could spread some disease, but in that case even the original crops could do that.

        Bah, we’re wasting our time, especially when we don’t have all the data. Now, let them come to my door say growing my own chili peppers is forbidden – I’ll show them! (gotta go buy myself a shotgun 😈 )

      • I have the same purchasing temptation sometimes. Do you think they sell some on Amazon?
        Your point is brilliant: Who grows the seeds? (The – sick – point is to protect the coopΓ©rative’s business) But who grows them?
        (please buy two)

      • Dunno how Amazon, eBay or other similar on-line companies trade in their stuff but you may not be eligible as a buyer – they may not ship to Mexico. And many sellers don’t ship to Romania either. So we’ll have to turn to the black market. πŸ˜› Oh and you’re right: I should buy two, since I’m ambidextrous (like those slick heroes – or villains – in the movies, crossing arms and shooting sideways). πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

        Haha, I’m sure we’ve both been flagged as potentially dangerous by now. Let’s enjoy the weekend, it may be our last one! πŸ˜› πŸ˜†

      • Great! Make sure you get some rockets for the bazooka (we’ll find one eventually). πŸ˜›

        There are things I prefer to use the left hand for, others are reserved for the right hand. Sometimes I can do just fine with either hand (like using a screwdriver, for example). Strange bird I am. πŸ˜†

      • Yes you are. Working on the home, one learns to do that. Now, in terms of weapon of choice I have a predilection for the 81mm mortar. Which I learned how to use in the Army. A bit heavy, but when used well is quite efficient. (By now we most certainly have all our conversations transcribed)

      • Poor designers, where do they come up with those numbers? 81mm? Couldn’t they use a round number like 80 or something? πŸ™‚

        We’re joking here but I’m positive many mass movements started with similar things in the past. Arbitrarily forbidding things, killing traditions, forcibly changing people’s way of living and so on are very dangerous and shouldn’t be taken lightly. Sometimes lawmakers get ahead of themselves and then wonder why enraged people get out in the streets. And there’s not many places in the world where sitting protests are the standard.

        Well, enough joking I guess. Best get back at “shooting” hydrants. Too bad we got a different system around here.

      • 81mm smells of inches adaptation… πŸ™‚ There is a smaller mortar, 60 mms very successfully used by the Viet-Minh to defeat the French Army at Dien-Bien-Phu. Much lighter, but less fire power… And yes, arbitrary is winning the battle. Trump just signed another of his decrees today, basically kicking close to a million people out of the country… And North Korea seems to have detonated another nuclear device… 😦
        Hydrants are much safer… πŸ™‚

      • Well, 81 / 25.4 = 3.1889 so it doesn’t quite fit. Now, 60 is a round number, I like that. πŸ™‚

        Just think of Cardinal Richelieu and everything will suddenly become more clear. Or not. πŸ˜‰

      • Wasn’t Richelieu the one to pull all the ropes behind the scenes or am I mistaking the characters (which is quite possible, actually 😳 )? That was the idea: who is actually pulling the ropes? πŸ˜‰

        As Asimov – or at least doctor’s hologram, in the movie – said in “I, robot”:
        “That, my friend, is the right question!”

      • Richelieu did pull many ropes. Though Mazarin (who came after) did pull even more. I don’t know who is pulling the ropes, but he/she is not very good at it. 😦
        And since you mention Asimov: have you read “The last question”?

      • Maybe they appear not to be good at it because they don’t bother to hide (all) the facts anymore.

        Whatever I read by Asimov was back in the childhood so I wouldn’t remember if I read “The last question”. Ouch, I hope mine above wasn’t the last! πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

  1. There is a special aesthetic to every-day, common objects. It is certain a design engineer was involved and sometimes the resulting object is worthy of study. I particularly notice light fixtures, having spent a number of years working with them.

  2. Now I wish I took some photos of a little town in the Bay Area that artfully painted all of their fire plugs. We didn’t have time but I always knew I would regret not taking those photos… Cool topic.

  3. Oh my friend, this is a dangerous mental path, because the day will come when such a hydrant is lying in your bed as it is more cosy. Or would you like to always stand day and night fixed to the urban jungle whereever?

  4. OMG! That 2nd one is positively seeeeething with anger! What a weird thing to focus on but yes the message is there – many countries don’t even have these entirely missable ‘luxuries.’
    I’ve never seen one in the UK which begs the question what is in their place? Just fire engines? Or are they hidden some other way? Now I’m obsessed!

    • Author’s note: our best investigative reporter, Daphne du Laurier, has gone undercover to research the threat of Fire Hydrants from outer space. Dear Daphne, please be careful. Hydrants can be extremely dangerous. I mean, they only carry water. NO whisky whatsoever. (Not to mention scones) They are a dreadful threat to Western civilization. The utmost caution is advised.

  5. Very cute indeed, Brian. I’ll never look at another fire hydrant in quite the same way ever again!
    I don’t believe I’ve ever seen a ‘blue’ topped fire hydrant; ’til now, of course. And the FH with a hangover has me wondering, in all honesty: Why the handkerchief? Your proposal is as good as any…

  6. I adore this post! My fave is the San Francisco Hydrant. In Winnipeg, they are painting art on the hydrants! Maybe this will catch on! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

