Reflections in a blogger’s eye **

I have a confession to make: when I started blogging a few years ago, I didn’t have the faintest. Not a bl..dy clue. I did not even really know that people blogged. A blogger? What on earth is that? Do you mean a blotter? That large absorbent paper one used to dry the ink on paper, in those days one wrote with a fountain pen, or a goose feather?

No idea then, but Daughter #2 had a blog and pushed me into this. I created a name, picked a visual theme, found my way around WordPress’ technical meanders, and voilà. I had a blog. (Wide-eyed emoticon)

My first post was a short story in Spanish: “Piano”, which has so far reached the astounding number of 8 views. 🙂 You’re quite welcome to check the story here:

https://equinoxio21.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/61/

Kandinski Anticipating the future

Kandinsky: Anticipating the future.

My objective was to use my blog as a channel for my writing. I have been writing for over twenty years as a hobby. Short stories for a long while. Piano was actually the first one I wrote. In New York, on one of the very first laptops that had come out in the early nineties. I was in the Big Apple for a week at a seminar or congress, wrote the story in dull moments, which never fail to occur in such venues. I wanted to see if I could write a story that “worked”, that is, dragged the reader inside the story, trapped him or her, and ended on an unexpected note. Well, it seemed to work according to my close circle of friends. And I kept writing short stories until I “graduated” to write a novel in Spanish. Why Spanish? I live in Mexico, that’s why. But the problem is very few people read here. So I switched to writing in English. I liked the “sound” of what I wrote. Every language has its own, particular music. Literary agents in New York could not be convinced though. They live in a dying industry, and still pretend to go by the old rules. The band playing on the deck of the Titanic I guess.

Anyway. Back to “blotting”. I mean bloGGing. I had no idea what it was when I started, and I admit I still don’t know. Or, better put, I still can’t grasp the entire scope, magnitude of blogging. I have learned a few things though. Here they are, as they pop into my mind:

  1. Blogging is a world of immense talent. How many million blogs on WordPress? 15, 20, 30 millions? Obviously one can’t… “follow” millions. Not even thousands. Some of you have over ten thousand followers, and though we all know many are “ghosts”, to keep track of a few thousand or hundred followers is a daunting task. Regardless, all the blogs I keep constant contact with demonstrate an incredible talent. In any area. Writing, photography, thinking, art, poetry, what have you. TALENT. And that is the first reward of blogging: you E-meet those incredibly talented people who (mostly) have never published; never exposed in a gallery, and yet their work and talent is available to you. For free.
  2. And that is the second lesson of blogging: Free. Which is all very nice, but you can’t make a living on “free”. Some have managed to “sell” their production but via other means. Blogging is an add-on. Or can it be a vehicle? Think about that and if you have an answer, pray share. Now, if you look at it another way, free implies free-dom. And that is precious. Freedom is the opposite of arbitrary.
  3. “Sharing”. I “share”, I don’t “follow” anyone, neither do I have delusions of grandeur that people might “follow” me. Too many self-appointed leaders have led multitudes to self-inflicted misery. I guess WP just copied Facebook’s “follow” concept. However, I believe that what we do when we blog, is more “sharing” than “following” or being “followed” (Are you following me, “honey”?). 😉 We share experiences, thoughts, feelings, emotions, something in the street that caught our eye, a song or a tune, art that spoke to us. A good example is street art. I paid no attention to it until a post from a blogger friend featuring street art made me react. I now “catch” street art anywhere I go. And post/share it.
  4. E-Friendship. Trite as it may sound, though the vast majority of us will never meet, I do believe bloggers establish some kind of a relationship. 21st century pen-pals of sorts? Maybe. After a few years of commenting, exchanging, bonds – however slim – take shape. I have met a few bloggers and I dare say they have become friends. Some I may meet in the future, and I’m quite sure we can share a beer, coffee, tea, whatever, sometime, somewhere, and we will pick up the last thread of E-conversation we had without a glitch.
  5. Frequency: Another aspect I have detected: regardless of the blog’s main theme, those who post daily, have much more traffic. Honestly I can’t do it. The formats I post take me a couple of hours to put together, and I can’t do that everyday. I might try something else this summer in Paris though.

In a nutshell I surmise that:

Blogging =  f (Talent, free-dom, sharing, friendship, frequency)

Not a bad combination. What do you say? What has Blogging come to mean to you?

Captain and crew welcome you back on Equinoxio’s irregular time-space blog. Can’t guarantee frequency though, but I do look forward to your comments, thoughts, reflections.

… To be continued.

** To Carson McCullers of course. “The blogger is a lonely hunter”

IMG_5565.jpg

Ready to blog, Tlalpan, Mexico city, June 22, 2017 AD.

67 thoughts on “Reflections in a blogger’s eye **

    • Thank you Scottie. You are ever so nice. Now don’t hold your breath: Flying for Paris Saturday and I’m notoriously bad at posting while traveling. Hugs back

  1. I began blogging with a poet friend in 2010, he passed away in 2014 bug I continued to blog. It is a bit addicting, sort of therapy. I’m glad you are still writing , I would miss your posts ! 🙂

  2. Hello, Brian. I agree with you 100%. I’ve also learned a lot from fellow bloggers – not only about the outside world, but also about myself in relation to it. There’s so much generosity and fellow feeling on WordPress too. And, as an excuse for spending a little too much time here, I justify it as regular writing practice. And of course, I wouldn’t have met you, would I 🙂 All best wishes from Wenlock juxta Sherwood.

    • Asante sana Memsahib. Another thing about WP is that people ARE nice. Polite, warm, postive. I understand other social networks are quite cutthroat. Take good care of yourself. B.

  3. Dunno what to say… I’ve been around for about ten years. WP, I mean. The Internet all in all a few years earlier, can’t remember exactly now. I’ve seen it all, I guess. Unfollowed most of my “contacts” earlier this year. And for some time now I feel I got nothing worth sharing with the world anymore. But that’s me.

    Found nice and interesting things (and people, commenters) here by you though. I like coming here. Don’t mind the (in)frequency, actually I kinda dislike being on a schedule, both in myself and others.

    Unfortunately, many so-called blogs have actually become – or have been from the very beginning – monetary venues for their owners. They surf around desperately, commenting in a wide range of ways – from heartfelt to intelligent to intriguing – on other people’s blogs while “at home” they post dilluted, generic articles on carefully chosen wide-interest topics to lure people into visiting them and when you get there you get hit in the face by all kinds of advertising. To me, this kind of activity has destroyed the real blogging the way you so accurately defined it.

    Back to your post above, the central figure in Kandinsky’s drawing seems to be a simplified version of the pyramid (or is it the masonic compasses?) with the all-seeing eye. That would well explain why it’s called “anticipating the future”. 😉
    The ending picture is great, it allows for a few possible interpretations. I know you carefully choose the images, nailed it once again as usual. 🙂

    Good to see you back. Take care, mon ami.

    • You are sharing all the time with your comments my friend. Sometimes we have more to say than others. I don’t mind “commercial” blogging, there still is plenty of the real stuff. New ones pop up every day. The Kandinsky painting is the cover of my short story Piano. Since it is not selling I have no (c) issues. 😉 And the last picture (You are very right about choosing) was a surprise in a walk earlier this week. That particular sculpture is usually hidden by parked cars. Loved it. And it’s good to be “back” (in touch) You take care too Dragos.

      • By the way, I tried to read the Piano story last night but got sidetracked by some 9GB worth of data suddenly missing from my hard drive, issue I had to urgently fix. I did copy the text to a file and will try to read it, time allowing. Spanish is not really my forte but I think I’ll do fine. Love your stories – speaking of talent – , wish I read more of them. Someday…

      • Missing data? Oh. Hope that is fixed. 😉 Thank you for trying Piano. I will find a way to translate those stories efficiently. Take care

      • Yeah, I managed to recover (almost?) everything, in reality it was about 5.8GB of real data, the rest may have been fragmentation, cluster overhead etc. Deletion was not my fault but most likely a bug in an old browser I started using lately instead of the usual one who became too bloated due to too many add-ons.

        As for the stories, every language has its own charm and magic, I like them as original as possible – translation often misses that je ne sais quoi that makes a story interesting, captivating. They just have to be read at the right time. 😉

        All the best to you and your family! 🙂

      • Yes, the original is best. I like each language’s music. Some stories I could only have written in spanish. Others in english. And now I have couple nagging me in French… Take care mon ami.

      • Yes, precisely that: each language’s music! That’s what I love, that’s what makes things different, unique, exciting, magic. Stories themselves choose their language. And people who can read them in their original form are blessed.
        May we all be blessed with that understanding ability! 😉

      • Got things sorted out fairly quickly, so all’s well. I know you went through such issue yourself with those photos not long ago. One could argue it’s only “virtual” stuff, but it’s much more than that. Not gonna elaborate on the topic – let’s just hope it won’t happen again. 😉

      • No storage medium is reliable anymore these days but they’re still expensive (for me, at least). I don’t trust the Cloud either.

        I’m relatively alright, just had way too much beer since last year and now no pants will fit anymore. 🙂
        How’s your Paris trip? Still there or already returned? Nevermind – hope you enjoy a wonderful summer wherever you are. 😉

        P.S. Twelve languages is quite an achievement. One requires a very good memory, otherwise they tend to mix with each other and we find ourselves with a personal Babel inside our head. 😀 By the way, one night I was dreaming of talking to someone in English then I switched to Italian and when I couldn’t remember one word I used its French replacement. 😆 Here you are the Babel I was talking about! 😀

      • Babel is fine. I use Spanish all the time to fill in the blanks in Portuguese or even italian. Paris was cut short. Fell ill, but I am back home and treated correctly. Should be fully back on my feet in a few days. Weeks? 😉 Enjoy your week-end.

      • Oh, shoot! Ill, on your Paris holiday? I’m so so sorry for you, mon ami.
        Hopefully you’re getting better now. Please do get well soon.
        Best wishes, have a lovely weekend! 😉

  4. make it nine views, although I don’t speak the language, if written by you , I know it must be that much more awesome than I can imagine ❤ welcome back my friend, you've been missed ❤

    • Thank you Kim. ❤ Missed you guys too. And you are only too kind. How's life treating you under the lovely sun? (And why nine views? So you do agree that some posts are too long, right?) 🙂 ❤

      • You said your first post only had eight views, mine made nine, ha although it was in Spanish…and long, yes😊life is good, warm and steamy, nineties all week….thank heavens for the AC😊welcome back, I try not to miss your posts, although I’m often on a two to three day delay often, busy weeks working, sigh😐💕

      • Got it. The nightmare of the beginning blogger. 🙂 Retrospect? Lots of fun. The heat is all right is you live not too far from the sea. Breeze helps. Oterwise AC.
        Glad you are busy working. It’s nice to get back to work after 17 years in the previous one. Take care Kim. ❤

      • The story about colonel Bubacar and his baby boy has reached home. Asmatou and the baby boy are well and leaving in Dakar Senegal. Thank for remembering.

      • Ce petit mot m’a ému au-delà de tout ce que l’on peut imaginer. Je suis très content. Heureux. Et je répondrai plus en détail sur le mail de Lamine. Incroyable. Mes hommages à Aïssatou. Brieuc martin-Onraët.

  5. Comme tous les blogueurs: on ne sait plus exactement comment on y est venu mais on est surpris de ce qu’on découvre. Pour moi, l’aventure des blogs a commencé fin 2004 (bientôt 13 ans) sans réelle interruption.
    Je sais un peu à quoi m’attendre (le bon comme le mauvais).

  6. I totally agree with your statement that ‘Blogging = f (Talent, free-dom, sharing, friendship, frequency)’ ! am delighted to have made your acquaintance in the blogosphere and love being your e-Friend!

    • Likewise, Lisa. I really enjoy following your adventures around the South seas. Makes me think of jack London. I also admire the courage you both have to handle the boat, repairs, and take everything in stride. You have made a dream come true. It takes valour, courage, virtue in the Roman sense. And I’m honoured to be your E-Friend. Fair winds.

  7. For me blogging is a digital continuation of what I did long-time ago (in the 90s) in the international mail-art network. And I observe similar developments in both of these expression-networks. For me one point is very important: the quantity of posts is not the real important matter. Some people blog everyday like maniacs, and this is not my aim. I just had a longer time-out from the blogging world allowing me to have a new focus on all this. The digital freedom is hard to seize with the own hand but it allows fascinating sometimes also misleading virtual discourses. However, I sometimes just prefer to take a pencil and write down a note to paper because I am a bit old-fashioned due to my age. Take care.

    • Hadn’t heard about mail-art. Interesting. Based on that experience what would be your forecast for blogging?
      I sometimes feel like we are “re-enacting” the exchange of letters of the 16th to 19th century, written with a goose feather, sealed and transported by horse-drawn carriages or “bâteaux à voiles” across the globe. Thank you for your comments.

      • The main problem of such free and open networks is the mass-problem. There is just too much information and action, everybody thinks he or she must react to this and that, here and there. It can be like a drug, because during my mail-art time each morning it was a big surprise for me to go my mail-box downstairs in the house which was again full of phantastic designed envelopes and post cards from whereever in this world. And for a specific time I was a real addict of this. In the blogosphere things are not that different in this regard, although quite influenced by facebook with all these like & follow buttons. And with these millions of blogs this is quite successful for WordPress, my assumption is that this will continue. But real letters are for me much more personal and real because they can be touched, etc. pp. One mail-art work can be seen in my 1st blog post (a collective collage being created at diverse places in Europe) to give you a slight idea of it under this link:

        https://transmutation.me/2015/02/09/place-of-invision-room-art-2015/

      • Yes. Mass can be daunting. Billions of posts. How does your voice get above the blank noise? (Well, it reaches a few, and that is quite enough). (Seen your mail – header – in passing. Will get to it. Thank you)

  8. Thanks for ‘sharing’ your thoughts, here. #s 1, 3 & 4 struck a nerve. Somewhat along the lines of Instagram, you can make wonderful friends whom you never meet but know very well. M still working on the pulitzer. Let me know if you see anything that comes close…

Leave a Reply

