Paris Time patrol numéro four.

8 Imagen escaneada 1

The photographer has just passed through the Egyptian section on the first floor of the Louvre. He is now facing the Pont des Arts passerelle or boardwalk. The iron-wrought balcony and the wing date back to Louis XIV, late 17th century. Le Pont des arts was built under Napoleon, around 1802. The “Institut” in the background is home to the Académie Française since its foundation by Richelieu in 1635. The year is 1964. Late winter probably*.

8 660-A

2014. Summer. The balcony has been restored. With gold leaf. The boardwalk is relatively new, rebuilt after a barge hit one of the pillars in the ’80’s.

8 2016-07-29 19.39.40

2016. Looking back at the Louvre from the Pont des Arts.

8 20160815_165357-A

A similar Louvre balcony as the one the two photos were taken from.

8 2015-08-06 12.42.06

2015 plus change. The Institut de France from the right bank.

8 P2014-07-17 18.29.48

Le Pont-Neuf, the New Bridge, as seen from the Pont des arts. c. 2014. Before the padlocks were removed.

8 20160819_191949-A

2016. L’institut, (left) from the boardwalk.

8 2016-07-29 19.33.08

Le Pont des Arts today. Padlocks removed. (Thank God!) Glass panels have been placed in lieu of the wire-mesh. This is where the Seine splits in two arms, divided by the Ile de la Cité, at the centre.

P1010816_Paris_IV_Hôtel_de_Sens_reductwk

2011. Hotel de Sens. Right between the Marais and the Seine, this small “hotel” (an old French word that meant palace, not today’s “hotel”), was built between 1475 and 1505. It is one of the last three medieval private residences left in Paris. The above photo (c)ourtesy MBZT 2011.

9 2016-08-01 17.14.48

I thought those were the gardens of the Hotel de Sens, circa 2015. But the turret bothered me. Looked a bit different. As usual Scotty had landed me at a slightly different location. At the back, not at the front. He always does that. (I remember the time he dropped me in a snake pit in lieu of outside!) So those ARE the gardens of the Hotel de Sens. Now see the next shot:

9 Imagen escaneada 3 1

Hotel de Sens*, winter 1963-1964. We will see the same blonde in further publications. An unaccounted for Time Travel Special Agent?

10 IMG_5847

1964. Spring. La Conciergerie from the Quai de la Mégisserie, right bank. See the book-box on the left? One of my favourite vintage comics suppliers has his book-box to the right of this photo (Outside the frame). Given his age, he probably has had it since 1964.

10 417

La conciergerie. 2015. (Notice the differences?) That is taken from the Pont au change. This is were Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette were held prisoners during the Revolution. And later guillotined close by on the Place de la Concorde.

10 Imagen escaneada 3 7

1964. La conciergerie.

10 a413

2015. It has been cleaned up a bit.

1964 images come from “The Paris I love”, printed  on the 15th on May 1964. (c) by Editions sun Paris. World rights reserved. Printed in France by Draeger and Braun. Photographs (marked with a *) by Patrice Molinard. The recent ones are mine.

Captain and crew thank you for flying Equinoxio’s Time-Space shuttle. We are working on the biscuits-scones issue. Wishing y’all a nice week-end.

65 thoughts on “Paris Time patrol numéro four.

  1. I absolutely love your Paris shots. Unfortunately, we only had one afternoon in the Louvre, and in the city itself for only a week before we encamped out to Croissy Sur Seine and the countryside where we found the cafe site of Renoir’s Boat Party, and to walk down a path by the river and recognize the outdoor cafe. Those two weeks are a bit of a blur except for strong pieces of memories. Thank goodness for the photos I managed to take. What is strong in my mind’s eye are the Gallo-Roman ruins beneath Notre Dame. It stunned me to stand at the edge a Parisii village and to wander the first levels of Ile de la Cite. Along with Renoir’s Boat Party cafe and the ruins below the cathedral, another stunner was to be wandering through collections of artifacts at the Cluny, turning a corner, and finding the Lady and the Unicorn tapestries. I sat in that little gallery for a long time.

    • Glad to stir up memories, Janet. You beat me to Croissy. never been there. Now, Cluny? One of my favourites. I will post La dame à la licorne in another post. That gallery (and the entire museum) is unique.
      Have a lovely week-end. (Rain or no rain?)

      • Story from Cluny: after about four rooms os reliqueries, Cliff (who was ordained an RC priest years ago) grumbled, “if all the pieces of the true cross were put together, it would be a hundred feet tall.”

  2. Memories revived, Brian! I’m sure that many hearts were broken when the padlocks were removed; though, it does now look so pristine. And yet the romantic in me did like the messy look of many lover’s sweet thoughts….
    Guess I’ll always have the memories… 🙂

    • Memories are better. I stopped taking photos for many years because I realized I had better and clearer memories of events and places when I did not take pictures. 🙂
      have a nice week-end Carolyn

      • And also, Brian ~ I’ve never been a great image taker because I have always felt it detracts from the moment. I have always preferred my memories, too…

      • It does distract form the moment. Now for me the great technological leap was the I-Phone. It’s not a camera. I just carry it in my back pocket. And it becomes an extension of my eye. No focussing, no light/speed adjustment. Just click and in the pocket it goes back. So I keep storing my visual memories. 🙂

  3. Aujourd’hui le Pont des Arts est mort. Quel dommage!

    I’d take ’64 anytime over the 21st (and following) century.
    Scotty – you know the drill! 😉

    • To each period its own. Paris is now cleaner… The monuments more beautiful. I don’t miss the padlocks, though, I miss the picnics that could be had on the bridge. Verboten now… That is sad. 😦

      • “Cleaner, more beautiful”… That’s one way to see things. I see them as more lifeless, more abstract, more ‘verboten’ – as you say.
        For so many people those padlocks were an extension to their very beings, anchors in time for their love and commitment to each-other. We live in such a cruel world… 😦

      • Then they could take their padlock back with them and lock it to their fence. The combined weight of the padlocks was – nearly – destroying the bridge. 😦 Now, by cleaner I mean that all monuments up to the sixties had accumulated so much grime over centuries it was hard to appreciate the details. See the 64 St-Germain-des-près photo and compare to today’s. I will post other photos where it is even clearer.

      • Yes, I understand the problem with overweight. Maybe they could’ve moved those panels to a specially-designed place, on land.
        They could’ve manufactured and sold plastic padlocks – and even provided ad-hoc engraving services – before the weight issue. Now it’s too late for ideas.

        Monuments may be cleaner but they lost that sense of time gone by. It’s a certain feeling one gets when standing in front of something that’s showing its age. But maybe it’s just me. 🙂

      • Yeah. Maybe. But the style and details show the age. I prefer the century-old stone as it was when it was built: creamy white.
        I remember photos of Prague during the Russian invasion. The city was all soot-dark. Now, it is brilliantly coloured and much prettier. Be good.

      • Hehe, apparently we have different views on this matter. 🙂 Well, since I can’t afford traveling it really doesn’t matter how things go, whether they clean everything up or not. Old pictures might make me happy while current reality might make you happy. Everybody’s happy – case closed. 😀
        I’m good. Too good for this century, but don’t tell anyone. 😛 XD

  4. Marvellous Paris. It’s years since I was last there. I love the atmosphere of the 60’s photos. And you are right about taking photos instead of ‘being there’. But I have become addicted to my digital camera even though I know this.

  5. Pingback: April 1rst, 2017: 3 Year Blog-Anniversary! | april4june6: A journal of self-tranformation

  6. Travelling with you,is a wonderful experience!I set foot on German soil yesterday.Visiting my son in Aalen and from tomorrow travelling a few places,as I have told you before.

  7. Why did they remove the padlocks?Did they become too heavy and also ugly?Interesting,when somebody starts an idea,how everyone copies it!!Humans are really like sheep..lol.

    • Selamat Pagi Indah! Apa kabar? 😉 Good to see you and glad you enjoyed the tour. (The padlocks were a mess. Really. 700 kilos per panel. A few panels just broke and fell into the river… Good riddance)
      How are you guys doing? Adjusting to the US?

  8. I never tire of Paris nostalgia. Thank you for feeding it. 😁Those love locks have become an unsightly fungus that just keeps spreading. I’m glad they got rid of them there, at least.

Leave a Reply

