Je reviens. I’m coming home.

A-IMG_6346

J‘ai couru à travers le monde                I’ve sailed across the world
De Shanghaï jusqu’à San Fernando     From Shanghaï to San Fernando
Sous le vent et la tempête                      Under wind and storm
Pour toi j’ai mené mon bateau             For you I led my ship
Je reviens le cœur en fête                      I come back my heart in joy
Jusqu’aux portes de Saint-Malo            To the gates of Saint-Malo

A-IMG_6306

Je reviens, je reviens, je reviens au pays          I’m coming, I’m coming, I’m coming home

Sous le vent et la tempête                                     Under wind and storm
Pour toi j’ai mené mon bateau                            For you I led my ship
Je reviens le cœur en fête                                     I come back my heart in joy
Jusqu’aux portes de Saint-Malo                           To the gates of Saint-Malo
A-IMG_6322

A-IMG_6371
Droit devant, depuis vingt semaines         Straight ahead for twenty weeks
D’Amsterdam à l’île de Bornéo                    From Amsterdam to Borneo
J’ai souvent cru que l’orage                          I often thought the gale
Finirait par avoir ma peau                           Would have my skin
Mais j’ai retrouvé courage                            But I found my courage
Et le chemin de Saint-Malo                           And the way to Saint-Malo

A-IMG_6325

Je reviens, je reviens, je reviens au pays          I’m coming, I’m coming, I’m coming home

Sous le vent et la tempête                                     Under wind and storm
Pour toi j’ai mené mon bateau                            For you I led my ship
Je reviens le cœur en fête                                     I come back my heart in joy
Jusqu’aux portes de Saint-Malo                           To the gates of Saint-Malo

AA-IMG_6325
Sous les feux ou les vents de glace            Under the fires or the ice winds
D’Istanbul jusqu’à Valparaiso                     From Istanbul to Valparaiso
J’ai fait le tour de la terre                             I have sailed ’round the Earth
Voile au vent sur le Santiago                       Sail in the wind on the Santiago
Par les portes de l’enfer                                Through the gates of Hell
Qui conduisaient à Saint-Malo                    That led to Saint-Malo

 

A-IMG_6379

Je reviens, je reviens, je reviens au pays          I’m coming, I’m coming, I’m coming home

Sous le vent et la tempête                                     Under wind and storm
Pour toi j’ai mené mon bateau                            For you I led my ship
Je reviens le cœur en fête                                     I come back my heart in joy
Jusqu’aux portes de Saint-Malo                           To the gates of Saint-Malo

A-IMG_6376

A-IMG_6377
Cheveux noirs ou bien cheveux d’ange      Hair black or Angel hair
De Lisbonne au port de San Diego               From Lisbon to San Diego
Mes amours, mes demoiselles                       My loves, my maidens
S’envolaient comme des oiseaux                  Flew away like birds
C’était toi vraiment la plus belle                   You only were the prettiest
De New York à Saint-Malo                              From New York to Saint-Malo
A-IMG_6354

Je reviens, je reviens, je reviens au pays           I’m coming, I’m coming, I’m coming home

Sous le vent et la tempête                                     Under wind and storm
Pour toi j’ai mené mon bateau                            For you I led my ship
Je reviens le cœur en fête                                     I come back my heart in joy
Jusqu’aux portes de Saint-Malo                           To the gates of Saint-Malo

AA-IMG_6375

The Captain wishes to thank Equinoxio’s Special Envoy to Chile. Lieutenant X (To preserve her cover) is spending a fortnight there on a Time-Travel international training seminar. All photos are from Valparaiso (Paradise Vale in English), on the south-western Pacific coast of Chile, a once obligatory port for those ships that sailed by the Cape Horn, where the world ends.

Lyrics by Hugues Aufray, one of the first French artists to introduce folk songs in France. The song is a lovely one, sorry I couldn’t find a link to an original song by Aufray. Only covers.

Saint-Malo? My father was born there, a century ago next year. Saint-Malo, on the northern coast of Brittany, was home to many a fine sailor, pirate or “privateer” (corsair), such as Jacques Cartier who founded French Canada, Duguay-Trouin who briefly captured Rio de Janeiro from the Portuguese, or Surcouf who fought the English on all seven seas. It is now a beautiful small city by the sea, where I still have cousins.

Until next time, fair winds to all.

89 thoughts on “Je reviens. I’m coming home.

    • And many thanks for the link. There are good images of Saint-Malo, and of a famous sailor of today: Olivier de Kersauzon. The one without a beard. The other one is Hugues Auffray.

      • You’re welcome. 🙂
        Audio is kinda low quality but at least I hope it’s the original. BTW, name seems to be ‘Aufray’ (with a single F) or at least that’s how it’s written on LP covers returned by my browser. No biggie.

        Your father was a sailor too, just on slightly different ships and on an endless sea. 😉

        Interesting street art there in Chile! I’d like to know what kind of “cat” is the six-legged one. 🙄
        Funny (and maybe efficient) advertising for the beer, on that panel: “… as cold as your EX-girlfriend’s heart”. Yeah, I guess it does draw certain kind of customers. 😀
        I wonder: did Socrates really say that about bread? 🙄

      • AuFray! OMG. A spelling error. (I will edit ASAP) I find double consonants everyday more challenging, particularly between english and french that never coincide. (What else is new?) You have a very keen eye. hadn’t seen the “Socrates” quote. (I doubt it very much!) 😉
        Be good

      • No worries, it happens frequently with all these languages mixed up in our minds. There are double vowels too in certain languages, to add to complexity. 🙂

        When I have enough spare time and the right mood I try to dig a bit deeper into the images to discover funny, interesting or intriguing details. 😉

        I wonder what was first invented: beer or bread? XD

      • Thanks for taking the time. I asked a chef today: he said bread. In Egypt. After a time, bread got dry and hard, so they tried to soak it in water, and discovered fermentation. Let’s hear it for Egypt!

      • Yay, another useful egyptian invention! 🙂
        We learned a lot from them, in time. I wonder where we learned slavery from, though, because the whole world today looks very similar to ancient Egypt in that regard…
        Darn, I need a beer! 🙄
        Thank you and the chef for the explanation. 🙂

      • Yep, still working on the beer. 🙂
        Which makes me think mankind is rotten at the core by design for devising and employing slavery for so long while claiming a high degree of civilisation.
        End of rant – it would be a waste of energy (and beer). 🙂

        Bon weekend a toi et a tous les amis ici! 😉

  1. Street art, sailing, and music…you have hit on so many of my favorite themes. Great imagery If all goes according to plan, we will be sailing to Chile in 2020…but we will likely go via The Straights of Magellan rather than the Horn

  2. Oooh,this is so beautiful!IThe lyrics and the photo’s of this beautiful place,took me far away.Thanks Brian,you really open up a new world for me with all your travels!

  3. A lovely poem and great photos Brian. I’ve always planned to visit Valparaiso – didn’t get a chance when we lived in Bolivia, but this gives me a more incentive. Hope all’s well, paul

  4. Apparently, elections are all the fashion! I fear it’s much more predictable in the UK and won’t change the absurd decision to leave the EU.
    Valparaiso did have something of a dodgy reputation as I recall.

    • Harbour cities always had. The London docks were alike, weren’t they. And yes, Theresa May(be) has decided to launch anticipated elections. I hope she gets a beating, and someone reconsiders. What a mess.

  5. Pingback: The heart is a lonely blogger* (Cont’d) | Equinoxio

Leave a Reply

