A morning walk. Mexico.

1-img_4035

My morning walks take me around Tlalpan, where we now live. A combination of traditional, colonial style and modernity, e.g. street art. The above is on Avenida San Fernando, Tlalpan, Mexico city.

img_3217-a

The ever-present Virgin Mary.

img_3676

Benito Juarez St. Al Jarreau just died. They’re probably making a huge jammin’ session up there in the clouds.

img_3729

Vintage car on Congreso (Congress) Street. It still runs. I’ve seen it in diferrent spots.

img_3768

The main church in Tlalpan. San Agustín de las Cuevas. Probably built around the 16th century. A former pre-hispanic city, south of the Aztec city of Tenochtitlán, now Mexico city, Tlalpan joined the Spaniards against the Aztecs. Many of the buildings and houses are from the 16th or 17th century. As the city was finally integrated into Mexico city, it was fortunately “abandoned” by developers, so most of the old town is still intact, and gradually restored.

img_3789

“Baptisms and 1st communion”. A place to hold your banquet for such important ceremonies. Lots of guests. 🙂

img_3791

This is a private chapel. Built in the 16th century to grace the property of a powerful Spaniard, in the Hacienda Amaxalco. The chapel has just been renovated last year. Not accessible to the public. The Hacienda has been replaced by individual houses on closed grounds.

img_3846

Avenida San Fernando. Security services provided. Call our hot line.

img_3891-nb

An old colonial house. 16th, 17th century. Though occupied, it is in a bad state of disrepair. If you look closely, the walls are made of clay. Not even bricks.

img_3998

A renovated house nearby. Most houses have been. Renovated. And thankfully, the local historical monuments administration watch very closely what is being done, construction-wise. The old house above will be renovated some day.

img_3903

Moctezuma (some spelling says Montezuma) was the Aztec Emperor who faced Cortes during the Spanish conquest. The name Moctezuma means: Mo=your or thou, Tekhutli=ruler, Zoma=serious.

img_3960

An old steely gentleman taking the sun on a bench on Renato Leduc St. I have to go back at a later hour, around 2PM, I guess. Tlalpan follows a strict North-South grid, and the position of the sun affects the photos greatly. This is a small park, in the middle of nowhere on a large transit avenue, with metallic figures, oriented east-west, and most of the sculptures facing east. So… need to go back after noon. 🙂

img_4036

Rastafarai! On San Fernando Av. A vulcanizadora is basically a tyre repair shop. Lots of nails and screws on the streets. 😦 They also take your old tyres and re-coat them with rubber. Less expensive but also less safe. I don’t know to what extent this is still a common practice.

Captain and crew wish you an excellent week. With brand new tyres.

41 thoughts on “A morning walk. Mexico.

    • It is. And Tlalpan is really special. Life goes on just about the same as in the 17th century. A twilight zone of its own.
      Hope all is well with you? What happened to the sewer thing?

  1. I love the attention to detail. So many buildings look like plain flat walls. The ones you show here are so decorative and trimmed. It is part of the allure of these buildings. I think it must be grand to live in such a diverse area. In my area all there is boring block like homes, all alike mobile homes, or street front malls. So mind numbing and sobering. The most exciting thing is if a tree grows with some different shape. On the home that needs repair will the homeowner do it , or will the historical society you mention spear head the work? I lived in a historic district in WPB and you had to run all plans for everything through the historical society and then after approval do the work? If your home or business was on the register of active historical places, they could force the work done, or do it and bill the owner. Hugs

    • In no country that I know of, does the historical society put any penny forward. But they do supervise everything.
      It can be an advantage and/or mean lots of extra-costs.
      But the result is positive. Otherwise, all those old houses would have been torn down.
      Thanks for your visits.
      Cheers

      • I agree and disagree. I love that these historical societies save old buildings of historic merit. I think it is important. However I owned a small cottage home in a historic district. My home was not registered as a historic home, however many of the homes around mine were. I went to add a fence and repaint the outside different colors. When I applied for the permit I was given a choice of prices, one rather expensive one and the other greatly discounted. As you may surmise the discount was to regester my home as a historical building. As I was talking to the historical people I learned somethings that upset me. My home was not anything of great significance, but the neighborhood was for some reason. I would lose all control of my home should I register it. Yes permits and fees would be much lower, but I wouldn’t have a choice of colors, changes to the exterior or even to modify the interior. Everything I would want to do would have to be agreed to by the historic committee. For example I was going to paint the home a light blue with a dark blue trim and a tan colored shutters. I wouldn’t have been allowed to as the colors for that style home in the time frame the society cared about was different. I don’t remember the trim but the main color for the house would be white. I said no, sorry I was willing to pay the extra to remain in control of my investment.

        Now that is not to say that all historical societies are wrong or that keeping some buildings as close as possible to their original standards are bad. Buildings that are truly exceptional or have important history should be protected if possible. But my little home was just a two bedroom workers cottage. There were some really grand buildings in the neighborhood that were of architectural interest and would maybe worth saving as original. However most were either new buildings or old ones that were of no real importance. No one famous lived in them. No crafts or work done was of any note. The style of them was not famous or noteworthy. So in this case I think they were just trying to grab control of homes in the area I felt. Thanks. Hugs

      • Wow! Thank you Scottie for this contribution. One more comment: as you may know, France is a land of many castles. Many castle owners refuse to register with National Monuments, for fear of not being able to change a light bulb without written permission. 😉

      • I can understand. I never thought of it before but all castles and such places would be much desired by historical societies to get their hands on. It is a great goal to protect and save, but it needs to be better implemented I think. I don’t know the better way, I just know there has to be one. Hugs

      • As in many things (not in Advertising strategy) middle ground is probably the best option. That’s why checks and balances were invented. (By a compatriot called Montesquieu) Cheers.

    • My pleasure. It has been totally absorbed by Mexico city (20 million inhabitants) but the minute you cross a certain street, you’re in another world. 🙂
      Thanks for visiting. (Salamat)

  2. Love the first anime-like graffiti.
    I’ve seen that private chapel twice before but now it looks repainted/restored. Or is it just me?
    I remember they used to reshape tyres out here too, years ago, dunno if they still do it as I don’t own any vehicle other than my bycicle.
    My neighbor owns one of the oldest “Dacia” cars ever built here, first series with Renault original parts, around ’70-’72. Still has original paint, keeps it outside with no cover on even in winter and still drives it few times a week. He’s about 90 years old.
    Looks like there’s some monkey business on Avd. San Fernando. 🙂

    Thanks for another nice and interesting walk! 😉

    • Chapel maybe. I may have posted it last year before the restoration. The Dacia would have been like a renault 16 or 17? make sure you don’t go out on your bike when your neighbour is driving. 😉

      • Yep, you definitely posted that chapel at least twice (and even admitted to that). 🙂

        First Dacia model was the 1100, straight copy of Renault 11, if I’m not mistaken. Then came Dacia 1300 as a rebranded Renault 12. My neighbor’s is the 1300.

        Thanks for the tip, that guy is dangerous alright. Few years ago he trespassed my garden and cut one tree in half for fear its feeble branches might break the wires of his power line. I was about to have a heart attack when I saw the tree destroyed. Next day he went in the street, leaned a ladder agains my fence and tried to cut down another tree, for the same reason. Common-sense stopped me to instantly perform lobotomy on his (missing) brains with the axe I had at hand. Stupid and mean is a very dangerous combination.

      • Renault 12? I see what you mean. your neighbour’s probably has 300,000 kms on the counter. And as for stupidity and meanness, not only is it a dangerous combination but it can get you elected… 😉

    • It is very nice. At least I can walk everywhere which is not always the case in Mexico city. And Mary is everywhere. I may do a “special” one day. “Je vous salue Marie…”

      • Oh no, he’s a hero now because he stuck to the script on the teleprompter at last night’s Joint Address to Congress. Who knew he could sound so Presidential. Please . . . 😫

      • It’s called a “Cyranoid” based on Cyrano de Bergerac. It was an experiment conducted by Stanley Milgram. (Also see the Milgram experiment, his prior research)

Leave a Reply

