An English-Frog Pot-Pourri. 35.1

1 2015-07-07 18.20.09.jpg

Few nations have warred for so long, a thousand years, give or take. And yet, are England and France so different? More like fighting brothers, rivaling for supremacy within the family. I’ve mentioned it before, the English have no real language of their own: a simplified German grammar over 70% french vocabulary. But that language – with a little help from their American nephews – is now the lingua franca of the world. As my back-up is still in Intensive Care, I have gathered a few readily available photos of London and Paris. No need to fasten seat belts, we’ll be hopping from barge to péniches at a leisurely river pace. Above: Tower Bridge. Theirs.

2 484.JPG

Pont Alexandre III. Paris. Ours. 🙂

3-2016-08-03-18-49-56

Theirs. Certainly has some style. (Near the London bridge. See the bus)

4-2015-07-27-16-28-32

Ours. What can I say? An air of defiance?

5 2015-07-07 13.42.53.jpg

Theirs. Beyond the shadow of a doubt. The French ate their last horses during the 1870 war against Germany. (Is the horse guard actually sleeping?)

6 278.JPG

Ours. Do I need to say more. 😉

7-2015-07-07-14-22-00

Westminster. Theirs, of course. I don’t know why the Brits managed to locate their cathedral and Parliament on the same grounds. Ours are safely separated. I owe you a photograph of the Palais-Bourbon, the French Parliament, as soon as the proper files are recovered.

8 417.JPG

La Conciergerie, Ile de la Cité. (The water is as murky as its english counterpart)

9 2015-07-11 09.48.29.jpg

Theirs. Circle and District lines.

10 2015-07-31 13.15.11.jpg

Ours. On line 10, Boulogne-Gare d’Austerlitz. Close to Saint-Michel.

11 20160814_102132.jpg

“Theirs”. The original Mini-Cooper. With Paris plates. 🙂 See the “75” at the bottom right corner? 75 is for Paris.

12-2015-07-09-20-36-53

“Ours”. Citroën DS. With Brit plates, near Notting Hill.

14-508

Seine or Thames? Which is which?

15-2015-07-07-16-09-55

15 2016-08-01 17.38.14.jpg

“Je suis bleu.” I am blue. Paris, bien sûr.

15 2016-08-03 19.51.01.jpg

Theirs. This was actually Cameron’s anti-Brexit programme. Failed miserably. I strongly urge (non-elected) Premier(e) Theresa May(be) to seriously reconsider her options. She seems to think she can negotiate a deal with the new tenant on Pennsylvania Avenue in DC. After not even a week in office, it seems clear he takes no prisoners. 😦

Thank you for sailing with Equinoxio Cruising Lines. This post is likely to be continued. Don’t quite know when. Still working on the blasted photo files. 🙂

PS. I thought I’d use the horse as a “featured image”. The horse guard is clearly asleep, and the horse is quite handsome. What think you?

40 thoughts on “An English-Frog Pot-Pourri. 35.1

  1. A very handsome horse indeed! I would have to say that france is winning my vote in these pictures… The suns out! It makes all the difference.

    Anyway… How rude of me. Bonjour my froggy friend Brian. I’m sorry I haven’t been around recently – I needed to take some time out and just… breatheeeeee.

    I’m aware that I am yet to reply to your email too (I haven’t forgotten you, panic not!) just very slow at writing emails.

    I hope all is well your neck of the woods…and Bonne année!

    • Hi Amanda. Just had to un-spam you. Darn WP. But I’m glad to have found your comment.
      No worry about not being around, breathing IS important. And don’t worry too much about the mail, it was for support, so I’m pleased that you sound well. 🙂 Cheers.

  2. I love the pictures and thanks for the captions. I think the horse is beautifully trained to stay so calm and still when the rider is asleep. The horse I knew growing up would have just meandered around doing their own thing. I can’t imagine the time it took to hand paint all the stars on the English posts. Nowhere in the US would you see time taken for such detail. Hugs

  3. Smooth sailing this time. 🙂

    That warning about growing up is so true. If only I knew it fourty years ago… 🙂

    I don’t think the guard was sleeping, his right hand (with the sword) would’ve slipped down. Maybe he just blinked or voluntairly closed his eyes saying to himself: “I’ll just close my eyes and this annoying guy with the camera will dissapear”. 😛 😄

  4. Wonderful, the other part of “Je suis bleu.” Beautiful photos, and yes I think you should use the horse as a “featured image”. Is this what’s known as sleeping on the job? Please take care Brian. ~ Mia 🙂

  5. The horse indeed caught my eye. What a beauty. I have practically lived on the Thames a great deal of my life and I shamefully couldn’t tell – I’ll go for the top one?
    I have evidence that the growing up thing is a trap – I would advise most people to avoid it.
    The guard is not asleep – he is reading something on his eyelids.

    I enjoyed the cruise although I thought it was a little on the windy side – some sort of warning about river cruises being cold should have been issued.

    We excelled Le Froglets in all the images except maybe the bridge – don’t like the blue.

Leave a Reply

