Pot-pourri dix-neuf, nineteen, neunzehn…

1 2016-04-16 16.25.13

Street art, Tlalpan, Mexico city, near the “new digs.”

2 pIMG_20150726_144014

Paris, un jour de pluie. Paris on a rainy day. (When does it not rain?) My beloved book-boxes by the Seine. Right bank.

3 L479 ALEX III

French lion, Alexandre III bridge, Paris.

4 2015-07-08 15.08.54

British lion, distraught, mulling about Brexit.

5 ka29ca

Sri Lanka, 1952, near Colombo. One of the very first available colour films.

6 2015-12-22 13.04.09

Tintin’s one and only Space Rocket. At a restaurant in BogotΓ‘, Colombia.

8 2016-03-06 13.11.11

Street art Mexico city.

9 2014-07-31 14.25.26

The little house I rent in Paris. Less than a month to go now… πŸ™‚

10 2015-12-24 10.41.17

“Trousers, ma’am?” Street mannequin, BogotΓ‘.

11 2014-07-20 13.49.57

Milan Cathedral, 2014. No wonder cathedrals took two centuries to build.

12 2016-01-03 10.26.28

Guiness is good for you. UsaquΓ©n, BogotΓ‘, Colombia.

13 2016-04-16 16.08.30

At a restaurant, Mexico city. The place is set in an old colonial house.

14 DM2014-07-20 13.20.52

L‘annunciazione, Milan. Archangel(a) Gabriel(a) and the Virgin Mary.

15 2016-04-16 16.26.29

Pancho Villa, one of the leaders of the Mexican Revolutionn at the beginning of the 20th century. Street art, Tlalpan.

16 E24a1

A Dewoitine 520. Just before the battle of France in June 1940. From my father’s archives. He was a second lieutenant in the French Air Force. I don’t know who the pilot was. (Always ask the old folks who is on the picture. And write it on the album.) The Dewoitine 520 was similar in performance to the German Messerschmidt 109 and the British Spitfire that later fought gallantly the Battle of England. Alas, production was slow and the first Dewoitine fighters were not delivered until may 1940. Not enough to fight. And France passed the bucket to the Brits.

Thank you for joining us on H.M.S Equinox Time and Space shuttle.

A brief update on Brexit. I am delighted to hear that Mr. Judas Johnson, Esq. has thrown the towel and will not run for Downing Street. On another front, to-day was the commemoration of the Battle of the Somme. (Soon to be former) Premier David Cameron, and a few Royals were invited by (hopefully) (soon to be former) President FranΓ§ois “Netherlands” (No offense to my Dutch friends). No speeches were uttered, thank God. Now, Mr. “Netherlands'” attitude in the past few days, while half of Britain is in shock, and maybe a fraction of the other half might be realizing what they have done, has basically been to say “Get out. Now.” He probably thinks he will get votes. Beyond a total lack of education, I think his attitude can only be qualified with one simple word: despicable.

There will no post next week as we are going to San Francisco.Β That means a lot of material for next posts. πŸ™‚

Have a great week-end.

103 thoughts on “Pot-pourri dix-neuf, nineteen, neunzehn…

    • Hi coeur de feu. How have you been? My aplogies for not visiting much lately, i’ve been a bit swamped. Like buying a new house and stuff… πŸ€“πŸ”¨πŸ”¨πŸ”¨ plus going to san francisco tomorrow. I will make it up. Bz. Have a lovely week.. (Your friend better now?)

  1. I loved this wander down memory lane. I was in Paris during 2012 and remember the book boxes with delight. Have a wonderful time in San Francisco. I love this city; it reminds me very much of Sydney, my hometown… πŸ™‚
    xoxoxo

  2. First of all Brian, what a lovely little spot you have for yourself in Paris! Another great selection, love the Sri Lankan colour shot and wow, the mess in the UK continues. As for Boris, all pomp and no circumstance.

    • Hear hear! (Yes the little house is magical. I book it every summer for the next year) it is quite small, a sitting room, kitchen, bathroom and a bedroom upstairs but I have a huge terrace/garden all fo myself. Lovely. If you ever need to drop in Paris for a few days I acn send you the coordinates of the landlady… Be good Patti.

  3. The Sri Lanka picture appears to have been artificially (manually) colored; I know this was a common technique back then, as well as fixing defects directly on film under the magnifying glass. My uncle that recently passed away has been an official photographer at an industrial facility before retirement, that’s how I know of these things. πŸ™‚

    To be honest I don’t quite fancy the cult of the dead in Central and South America, I find it depressing but that’s just me. The art is pretty good though.

    Great picture of the Dewoitine considering the conditions at the time! πŸ˜‰ Is it me or does the plane look very similar to the Spitfire only it’s shorter?

    In regard to religious symbols such as the Milan Cathedral I have my reservations, to say the least. It must have been an ordeal to build such thing, the costs projected to our times would be huge, not to mention the human lives that might have been lost in the process. And for what? Satisfying the ego of a handful of people (or just one)?
    There is a monstrosity being built in our capital currently, a similar religious symbol whose purpose I fail to see in these days and age. How many schools, hospitals, houses could have been built using that money/materials/etc? Argh! 😦

    Well, all that said have a safe trip to Frisco and may you have a great time there! We’ll be eagerly waiting for your return with great photos and interesting stories! (please get at least a streetcar photo πŸ˜‰ )

    • . Quite a detailed analysis as usual. 😊 i’ve always wondered about the sri lanka photo. As far as I know those are natural colours maybe printed from one of the vΓ±ery first slides? Colour definition then was not as good. I will definitely shoot a few cablecar photos. Take care mon ami

      • I’ve seen many old postcards (used to have a couple, dunno where I put them) that at first sight appeared to have been shot in colors but at a closer look it showed they were artificially colored. The colors were very close to the natural ones, that’s what tricked the eye. πŸ˜‰

        As a child I had a few small scale plane models made of plastic and one of them was the Spitfire. I liked it more over the others, dunno why. Your picture brought back those days. πŸ™‚

        As for the bad choices our rulers make in regard to the purpose of that big money taken from working people all I can say is it’s our fault for letting them get away with it. “Divide et impera!” – we’re not united anymore, we can’t defend our best interests divided as we are. And they strive to keep us that way: powerless sheep. What democracy? 😦

      • Yes many photographs were hand-coloured in the 40’s. (I also built a few scale planes when I was a kid. made me realize, painting them that I was slightly colour-blind) And the rulers? Getting worse. At least we were spared Hollande’s comments on how the French victory in the Euro was a good sign for economic recovery!. Hehe! (Viva o Portugal!)

      • Sport is not what it used to be back on Mt. Olympus. I find this recent event as a note to the world: “He who treads water and makes no waves gets to eat cake”. Which is only politically (and in no other way!) correct. πŸ˜‰

        Oh how I miss (certain parts of) childhood…!

  4. A festive blend of images, as usual, Brian. I’m intrigued by those of Bogota, especially. Been hearing good things about Colombia lately. Everything changes. Have a fabulous time in San Francisco!

  5. I had a few Guiness the other night, mmmmm….no sandwich with it though, just the G on a hot summer night, priceless….love these images, amazing and so cool πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Kim. Glad you like the (apparently) random selection. I like the contrast of a Guiness ad in a colombian restaurant. Have a lovely week. πŸ™‚

      • Now I knew I was missing something. I had it at the tip of my mouse… Happy birthday Kim! So sorry I missed it. I guess the change in environment sort of fried my memory cells. you had family coming over, right? I hope you had a real good time. Hugs my friend. (I will try to do better next year…)

      • It goes all week long Brian, don’t you know we get to make the rules up as we get older….kind of a trade off for watching childhood slip by….thank you, we had a marvelous time, back to normal though and just saw my first movie in what feels like years (at the theater). A fun cute romp…the secret lives of pets….a kids movie, but we enjoyed itπŸ˜ŠπŸŽ‚πŸΎ

      • Good! Glad you went back to the theatre. Movies are best seen there. (Actually we haven’t gone in a couple of months, though we try to go every week or fortnight). If you liked pets you might like zootopia. Just rented it on I-tunes. Not bad. Oh. And I just saw a second-hand copy of the creature of the black lagoon. But it was the wrong zone… 😦

      • Creature from the black lagoon, loved that as a kid…old black and white as I recall. Will have to check out Zootopia…it’s a comedy, right? Just finished Jurassic Park, hubby hadn’t seen it before….all fun😊

  6. The photograph of the airplane is fantastic! How did they manage to take such a clear shot I don’t know. You are so right about writing down all the info on pictures.
    Have a great time in San Francisco! I have re-booked my flight, and will depart from SF in September.

      • Hi Inese. Just got back last night. Interesting trip. Nice city. Veeeery windy. Make sure you check the weather beforehand. We had to use sweaters and windbreakers all the time. Cheers.

      • I still have almost two months to go. Hope the wind will settle down πŸ™‚ Glad you had a good time even if the weather wasn’t great.

      • Thank you. Fortunately my wife had checked the weather forecast with great scrutiny, so we were very well layered up. Cold and wind are all right i f you are. And there was no rain at all. rain really does spoil any walk… πŸ™‚

      • I somehow imagined that there was rain, because we never have wind without rain πŸ™‚ Great you had you warm clothes with you – I believe in a thorough research before any trip πŸ™‚

      • More and more. I used to go anywhere with my nose up to the wind! Now with cell phones I can even find a cafΓ© nearby in a strange city. πŸ™‚

  7. Hey Brian! So, I was just strolling around the wide blogosphere of writers, and wanted to know if you were interested in participating in a blogging/writing collaboration-journey-adventure in the somewhat near future with me and a few other bloggers. I can’t say too much about it right now – the details are TOP SECRET – but it will basically be a short-term, not-too-labor-intensive, super-mega-fun creative project that will have everyone else be like β€œdamn, why didn’t I sign up to be a part of this project when they asked me to?” If you’re interested, reply here and/or drop me a line at jacobh1021 at yahoo dot com. Cheers!

  8. holy Molly! πŸ™‚ la fusΓ©e de Tintin @ Bogota: you have to see it, to believe it… πŸ˜‰ j’en ai la mΓͺme, en plus petit, car my beloved rocket & satellite scientist loves Georges Remi aka HergΓ©…. πŸ™‚

    • C’est gΓ©nial, non? J’adore ce resto. (En plus on y mange pas mal) Et du coup, je relis tous mes Tintin… Je viens de finir L’Γ©toile mystΓ©rieuse) πŸ˜‰ Mes respects au Rocket Scientist)

  9. Hope you are having fun in SF! Love that city. Enjoyed the visual meander here with special love for the street art murals and the Sri Lanka pic. How cool that your dad was in the French service in WWII. Brexit…what a clusterfuck.

  10. Fabulous photos Brian, loving the Mexican ‘skull art’ and that’s a fantastically clear photo of the Dewoitine in mid-flight.

    It’s been an unsettling few weeks since Brexit became more than just the delusion of the far right, and as a European Brit it’s been particularly hard to take. Desperate times call for desperate measures, and so the British political establishment has decided to tear itself apart to distract everyone from the plunging pound and rise in hate crimes against people from other countries and Brits who aren’t white. These are appalling times for anyone who values the European community. I’ve started to learn Dutch in earnest…

    Have a great trip to SF!

    • Dankje wel Paul. Just got back. Nice place. And yes, it is an appalling show we are witnessing played by all european politicians. Stick to learning Dutch. may come in handy. Tot ziens mijn heer.

    • It is a good question. I am writing. A bit. Just wrote the Black Queen. After A night in Penang. I also have a book stuck near the 27th chapter… Posting a pot-pourri is easy. A couple of hours work. On the one hand I need to set more time aside for writing. On the other hand, I am slightly discouraged at the impossibility of getting published! πŸ™‚ And God knows I’ve tried. So let’s say I am taking a small break from writing novels. Thank you for asking. That is the sort of comment that is challenging. πŸ™‚ Love. B.

  11. Hi there! Those are really interesting shots. You surely had a great time roaming around and thanks for bringing us there with your vivid photos. Take care on your next” journey and have a great time!

  12. Break ups are never easy and often grudges are held. Do you hope for better replacement of soon former Ms Netherlands and others. I wish I did. Comment vas-tu, B? (yo estuve de vacaciones unas semanas)

    • Hi Trisha. I owe you one. I’m in Paris. And haven’t touched my computer in several days. I had however started reading the cirst part. Like it very much. Your stories, your drawings are great. I will do my best to advance but can’t promise when. I insist: i like it a lot. 😎 love. B.

    • Hi Hollie. I am. Thank you. An apology for staying out of WP’s radar. Just been spending my hours on the streets of Paris and restaurants catching up with old friends. And museums and bookstores. 😊 I still havent figured out how to share my impressions with my E-friends. A bit of a technicality there. I hope you are well. No random terrorista there i hope. It is an issue here. Streets are empry of tourists. I will get back to you. 😎 Ah. Do you have a mail? It might be easier to send you a couple of photos. Biz and hugs. Brian

    • It’s a tradition that dates back to the 17th century. There are boxes full of books and engravinds and magazines all along the banks of the Seine in the central part of Paris. You can buy an old copy of, let’s say Camus or Steinbeck or Hemingway for 2 euros. It is one of my favourite spots in Paris. I walk along, know some of the booksellers. Find an old edition of an author i like. Magic. πŸ˜‡

  13. Pingback: The heart is a lonely blogger* (Cont’d) | Equinoxio

Leave a Reply

