Pot-pourri 3 x 5

03 dc2015-05-16 16.34.20

The Fairy Godmother, Washington, DC.

S2014-07-24 16.54.43

“Attenti al lupo”, Siena. (I refuse to write Paris, France or Siena, Italy) 🙂

24 r2015-08-29 16.11.32

Traditional mask (origin: Guerrero?) at a restaurant, Mexico city.

31 sapIMG_20150725_150642

Vintage ad for a (Disappeared?) wine. Le timbre-poste, a restaurant in the South of Paris, where one of my brothers has his headquarters.

26 k51a

“Hold your horses!” C. 1968, in the neighbourhood of Karen, Nairobi. We used to ride – unknowingly – by Karen Blixen’s house, out into the Ngong Hills. “I had a house in Africa…”

23 IMG_20150810_145314

Simba na Paris. A Paris lion.

M2014-07-19 21.06.58-1

Milan, the cathedral. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such minute detail carved out everywhere. You can get a small idea by all the crosses on the two slopes of the roof. I will post more on Milano’s beautiful cathedral. Doppo, doppo. 🙂

2016-03-06 13.15.06

Street art, Mexico city.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bradypus, Amazon.

Sloths, or bradypus are strange animals living most of their life hanging upside down. Very slow in their movements, they are called paresseux in french, perezoso in Spanish, which both mean lazy. We spotted this particular one up in the trees on a walk inside the Amazon forest. It took easily twenty minutes to move to the next tree. see more:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sloth

SA 2013 Paris 176

“Honey, have you seen my shoes?”, Rue Dombasle, Paris.

2016-03-21 11.48.24

Times Square, Mexico city.

S2014-07-24 09.58.45-A

Made in Italy. San Gemignano, Tuscany. Coin, coin.

S2014-07-24 16.03.41-A

Tombstone, Sienna. Around Botticelli’s time. Notice the long flowing hair, and the “cornucopia of abundance”. Wonder what the sail allegory means…

Thank you again for flying Equinoxio. Have a lovely week-end, everyone.

Text and images, (c) yours truly.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Pot-pourri 3 x 5

  1. Great grouping of photos. I love sloths. I ran in to one clinging to a phone poll in Costa Rica once and I have been hooked ever since. My husband thinks I do a great impression of a sloth. Not sure how to take that. 😉

  2. Yo tambien soy un perezoso. 🙂
    Those are not wolf ears but more like lion(esse) ones.
    Shoes appear to be different sizes – maybe (quite young) mother and daughter…?
    There’s something about the light in vintage photos that I can’t put my finger on. Anyway, nice of you to be riding horses around the time I was barely learning how to walk. 😄

    Auguri a Alexandra e al piccolo Gonzalo! Buona domenica a lei, Brieuc! 🙂

    • Lo stesso Dragos. (Three languages in a row…) Multu mesc. The shoes were very funny. On a window sill one meter high on the street. Now remember riding horses involves a lot of falls… 🙂

      • You’re welcome, grazie. 🙂 (BTW, ‘mulţumesc’ is a single word 😉 )

        Falling is inherent not only when riding. 😉 I still remember Christopher Reeve, how sad and ironic for an ex-superman…

      • You know, that is weird. Very much so. As I was looking at your comment this morning on my phone, at breakfast. I thought about horse falls AND Christopher Reeves.
        Frightening meeting of minds. And I was thinking that I was lucky with my fair share of horse (and others) falls with maybe a bruise or two. No more. Yes it was a sad accident for him. Too bad. (Are you sure you’re not my lost little brother, abducted at birth?) 😉

      • Come to think about it, I wish I were. Oops, I do have a problem trusting ‘big brother’ though. 😛 😄

        At the time, the Superman movies made quite an impression and Mr. Reeve became an icon almost worldwide so his unfortunate accident had a much bigger impact on all of us than usual, that is probably why we keep it in the back of our minds and comes up first when we think of similar situations. Darn, I began thinking like Mr. Spock: in a purely logical manner. 🙂

      • Haha! You are right: My brothers are older than me. And though they were/are nice people, older brothers always look down on little brothers. 😉
        Ain’t that right, Mr. Spock?

Leave a Reply

